Martlets Guild logo

Coaching within Archery GB

There are several grades of coach qualified to deliver training and mentoring ranging from basic beginner instruction to international elite training. For more information on the individual grades please see our coach grades page.

“Coaching Licence”

All grades attend courses to achieve their “coaching licence” at the relevant grade and are required to advance one grade at a time. In order to retain their “coaching licence” there are certain requirements as part of the renewal process which is required every three years. These requirements include having a suitable work record and acquiring the required number of “CPD points”. For more information see Archery GB's Coach License Renewal (opens in new window)page.

DBS Checks

All coaches are required to complete a recognised course for the protection of children and vulnerable adults and undergo an enhanced level of DBS (formerly CRB) check. The enhanced DBS check is repeated every three years and must be current for license renewal.

Work Record

All coaches must maintain a comprehensive work record which has to be submitted as part of the renewal process.

Continual Professional Development

All coaches must undergo Continual Professional Development (CPD) to demonstrate their commitment and desire to broaden their knowledge. However, although recommended there is less emphasis with Level 1 Coaches who wish to remain at that standard but if they want to keep up to date or progress to Level 2, they must have a reasonable amount of CPD points before joining a Level 2 course.
Points can be achieved by attending lectures, seminars, workshops, conferences, working with other sports professionals and higher level coaches, etc.. There is a matrix available which outlines what you can get “CPD points” for and how many. This matrix can be found on Archery GB's Coach License Renewal (opens in new window)page.